Idea: Assange Quiz

Since the media’s focus is usually to give the answers, I thought it would be interesting to turn the approach around and give questions and make a quiz. I already posted the first one on Twitter. 1st, in order that people can guess if they know the correct answers and 2nd, to make them curious about Julian’s case, getting aware of what is at stake for all of us. The more people are aware and educated about this important case, the more support Julian can get. (Independently if they would join this DAO or somewhere else.)

• What questions come into your mind, when you think about Julian’s case?

#AssangeQuiz:

1. How long is it legally permitted to keep a non-convicted foreign publisher on remand for a different foreign country, without even the ability to bail in a high security prison?

@Rick_Velvet, do you know the correct answer? I’m no lawyer and, unlike at least one other non-lawyer who posts on these threads, don’t pretend to be. But I believe that when you ask about something being “legally permitted,” the correct answer must be properly founded in applicable law—in this case, UK statutory law. These historical facts, readily understandable even to a layman, pertain:

• in April 2019, Julian Assange was found guilty of breaching the Bail Act;
  • in May 2019, he was sentenced to 50 weeks imprisonment for said offense.

Presumably his conviction is dispositive of any subsequent request for bail within UK courts, it having been thus established that he is a flight risk and suitable for confinement in a high security prison. If you are offering your quiz primarily for trivial entertainment, facts don’t matter, and posing the question in a misleading manner is all in good fun. But you also allude to an educational purpose, and to that end your approach does not well serve Mr. Assange.